Institute Professor is the highest honor given by MIT’s faculty and administration. Those who hold the title are honored for their scholarly and educational accomplishments and also for their outstanding leadership and service.

Institute Professors are considered to be the greatest of MIT’s great faculty. Among this group is one Nobel Prize winner, three Heinz Award winners, and a former Secretary of the Air Force.

Institute Professors have built companies, lectured around the world, and hold honorary degrees from national and international colleges and universities.

The extraordinary men and women on these pages are among just 13 MIT Institute Professors who hold this title. They are dedicated servants who are key contributers not only to MIT but to the nation and the world.